The Islands though not recognised by the Scotch Whisky Association as a region, includes all of the whisky-producing islands, Arran, Jura, Mull, Orkney and Skye, but excludes Islay. It is hard to categorise them, indeed the fact they are a category of their own is most probably for geographic ease rather than for discerning between styles. It can be described as a hybrid between Highland and Islay whiskies

The newest Island distillery is Arran which was built in the mid 1990's and produces whiskies that have recently come of age. Moving North at the Mull Island we can find its sole distillery, Tobermory which also produces Ledaig. There is then Jura, with the homonymous Distillery.

On the Island of Skye there is the complex and peppery Talisker. Finally on the dark, weathered isle of Orkney you can find the two Northerly distilleries of Scapa and Highland Park.

Isle Of Arran Distillery
01 November 2014

In the early 19th century, there were more than 50 whisky distilleries on Arran, most of them illegal and carefully hidden from the eyes of the taxmen. 

Jura Distillery
17 March 2015

Jura distillery is sited next to a cave that, legend has it, housed an illicit still back in the 1800s. It's believed that Jura comes from the old Viking word "Dhiura", meaning red deer.